512.447.7460

Delighting our guests since 1996


"I don’t even know where to start. Everything about the Park Lane Guest House is perfect!...We felt genuinely recharged when we left and can’t wait to get back!" 

-NDeschner

"Calling this a 'bed and breakfast' simply doesn’t do this place justice, because while it has both a bed and provides a breakfast, those facts are only the beginning here and staying here was the highlight of our vacation. Park Lane is more like a meditative retreat near the lively SoCo area of Austin that just so happens to offer a quiet bed and bountiful breakfast."

-David G. from Lawrence, KS

"My perfect B & B experience was realized this past April at The Park Lane Guest House! It was the ultimate relaxing, comfortable & interesting place I have visited."

-BedandBreakfast.com


Recent Press

Girl Wanderlist: Sweet Sleeps

World traveler Lauren Breedlove creator of Girl Wanderlist came to stay at Park Lane Guest House. Read about The Vicky Guest House, her time spent with us and her tour of Austin.


Austin TX LGBTQ Travel Hot Spot

Accidental Bear's web series spotlighted Parklane Guest House in November 2015. Learn about our guest house and other fun Austin spots you can't miss during your visit. 


THE HEALTHY VOYAGER

Healthy and Vegan Travel Show featuring Park Lane Guest House, June 2014

Join The Healthy Voyager, Carolyn Scott-Hamilton as she finds delicious healthy, vegan and gluten free food in Austin Texas as well as a fabulous eco, vegetarian bed & breakfast and more!


USA Today

USA Today

Vegetarians (and vegans), this hotel website's for you
April 2014

"The first association for vegetarian lodging establishments is (we can't resist the pun) beefing up its U.S. listings.

VeggieHotels, which launched in 2011 in Germany, now lists 500-plus bed and breakfasts, hotels, spas and conference centers in 60 countries, including about 50 U.S. lodgings.

Listings range from a one-room cottage in the Swiss Alps to a five-star resort in Bali, Indonesia. U.S. offerings are as varied as the Stanford Inn by the Sea eco-resort in Medocino, Calif., and the Park Lane Guesthouse, a bed-and-breakfast inn in Austin's SoCo District.

The criteria for VeggieHotels membership is simple: No meat and fish can be served on the premises."

Read the complete USA Today Feature here.


Bicyclette Rouge Atelier Travel Blog

March / April 2013

"...Thankfully, we finally made it Park Lane Guest House and were able to let ourselves into our cottage. We were immediately blown away, but couldn't fully appreciate it until the next afternoon when we awoke and climbed down the ladder of our bed loft to the breakfast tray that awaited us from Shakti, one of Park Lane's terrific owners."

"The cottage where we stayed was built almost entirely from reclaimed materials by Tiny Texas Houses... Their cottage at Park Lane is rich with color, interesting detail, history and fine craftsmanship that makes the most of a small space. Passing through the gate towards the main house after breakfast, we discovered the outdoor shower and gorgeous tiled pool; a true oasis just blocks from one of Austin's favorite areas for shopping and dining."

"Although other guests had booked rooms, they were never around when we went swimming, so we had the courtyard to ourselves. Every morning was like this: simple, delicious meals made from wonderful ingredients; abundant sunshine, a peaceful breeze in the trees. Around the property, every detail has clearly been thought out yet comes across as relaxed. We could have spent every day at Park Lane, but were both looking forward to exploring the city. I hadn't been there for years and was happy to be back."

Read the complete blog post here...


From REAL magazine, Austin American-Statesman (click for full gallery)

From REAL magazine, Austin American-Statesman (click for full gallery)

AUSTIN AMERICAN-STATESMAN

Travis Heights B&B welcomes guests to the real Austin
February 2013

"Olevia, the Havanese, is the first to greet visitors at the Park Lane Guest House in Travis Heights. She's ready to climb into the laps of any guest to Shakti and Devkrin Khalsa's bed-and-breakfast.

She's made to be a bed-and-breakfast dog,' Shakti Khalsa says. Guests will find themselves lying around the pool, completely relaxed with Olevia on their laps. Layla, the Pomeranian, will not be far behind in charming the guests.

They are a warm welcome to this half-acre oasis just blocks from South Congress Avenue. The Khalsas have created an inviting, organic alternative to the downtown hotel scene. They show their guests the Austin they fell in love with in 1994 when they moved here from the East Coast." (read full feature here)


The Park Lane in Country Living Magazine, April 2012

The Park Lane in Country Living Magazine, April 2012

The Park Lane Guest House in Country Living Magazine's feature on Austin, April 2012

"...'Home away from home' is an understatement at this earthy inn, composed of three fairly-tale cottages as well as one spacious room in the main house. Take a dip in the shaded swimming pool and delight in a breakfast made with ingredients harvested on-site: fruit and herbs, plus eggs laid by the owners' chickens."

Download the PDF feature here...


KOOP Radio: Shades of Green
Park Lane hosts a stop on the Austin Funky Chicken Coop Tour


Listen to Shakti talking about the Chicken Coop Tour on KOOP's Shades of Green radio program.


New York Shop Exchange Video Business Guide

September 2011
Historic eco-friendly lodging in the Austin TX area.


KXAN News: The Weekend Gardener

April 2012

Enjoy our Saturday morning tour of Park Lane's garden with KXAN's John Dromgoole for The Weekend Gardener.


The Anti Tourist
Fairytale Cottages Hidden in Austin's Travis Heights

August 2009

"...Park Lane Guesthouse is small; it's intimate; it's charming; it's cozy; it's beautiful; and it's welcoming, alongside an ongoing theme of organic details. The craftsmanship is undeniably remarkable, with an emphasis on detail in every corner of both Shatki Khalsa's (one of the two co-owners- the other being Dev Kirn Khalsa) home, the surrounding property, and in the character of each cottage and room available."

Read the full review here.


The Austin Chronicle
Holiday in Town: Bed, Breakfast, and a Whole Lot More


"...Park Lane is a breezy, comfortable, and elegant home, with French doors, tons of funky windows (including one from the first renovation of the Texas Capitol), and a welcoming, wide-open kitchen and living area. It's the second resurrection for the property, which was originally the site of a larger Victorian house built around the turn of the century; a recently added stone swimming pool was built on the ruins of the original basement."


Lonely Planet
Hotels & Hostels Review


"...One of the owners is a retired carpenter, and she's done an amazing job collecting and incorporating interesting elements into the house. Funky bar seats sit beside an amazingly intricate mosaic tilework counter in the kitchen. Most requests come for the romantic Carriage House. A Gothic-inspired ironwork bed stands against deep mustard walls done in a faux-Venetian plaster-like finish."