Park Lane Guest HouseAbout UsOur Cottages and RatesBusiness TravelAbout AustinReservations and Contact UsPress and ReviewsPoliciesDirections512.447.7460Special Offers Guests love our Austin B and B
 Press & Guest Reviews
 
Bed and Breakfast.com Read our reviews at BedandBreakfast.com >>
Trip Advisor.com Read our reviews at TripAdvisor.com >>
Yelp.com Read our guest reviews at Yelp.com >>
Vegggie Hotels Find us at Veggie-Hotels.com >>
 

USA Today
Vegetarians (and vegans), this hotel website's for you
April 2014


"The first association for vegetarian lodging establishments is (we can't resist the pun) beefing up its U.S. listings.

"VeggieHotels, which launched in 2011 in Germany, now lists 500-plus bed and breakfasts, hotels, spas and conference centers in 60 countries, including about 50 U.S. lodgings.

"Listings range from a one-room cottage in the Swiss Alps to a five-star resort in Bali, Indonesia. U.S. offerings are as varied as the Stanford Inn by the Sea eco-resort in Medocino, Calif., and the Park Lane Guesthouse, a bed-and-breakfast inn in Austin's SoCo District.

"The criteria for VeggieHotels membership is simple: No meat and fish can be served on the premises."


Read the complete USA Today Feature here...



Bicyclette Rouge Atelier
Travel Blog
March / April 2013


"...Thankfully, we finally made it Park Lane Guest House and were able to let ourselves into our cottage. We were immediately blown away, but couldn't fully appreciate it until the next afternoon when we awoke and climbed down the ladder of our bed loft to the breakfast tray that awaited us from Shakti, one of Park Lane's terrific owners.

"The cottage where we stayed was built almost entirely from reclaimed materials by Tiny Texas Houses... Their cottage at Park Lane is rich with color, interesting detail, history and fine craftsmanship that makes the most of a small space. Passing through the gate towards the main house after breakfast, we discovered the outdoor shower and gorgeous tiled pool; a true oasis just blocks from one of Austin's favorite areas for shopping and dining.

"Although other guests had booked rooms, they were never around when we went swimming, so we has the courtyard to ourselves. Every morning was like this: simple, delicious meals made from wonderful ingredients; abundant sunshine, a peaceful breeze in the trees. Around the property, every detail has clearly been thought out yet comes across as relaxed. We could have spent every day at Park Lane, but were both looking forward to exploring the city. I hadn't been there for years and was happy to be back."


Read the complete blog post here...



Austin American-Statesman
Travis Heights B&B welcomes guests to the real Austin
February 2013


"Olevia, the Havanese, is the first to greet visitors at the Park Lane Guest House in Travis Heights. She's ready to climb into the laps of any guest to Shakti and Devkrin Khalsa's bed-and-breakfast.

"'She's made to be a bed-and-breakfast dog,' Shakti Khalsa says. Guests will find themselves lying around the pool, completely relaxed with Olevia on their laps. Layla, the Pomeranian, will not be far behind in charming the guests.

"They are a warm welcome to this half-acre oasis just blocks from South Congress Avenue. The Khalsas have created an inviting, organic alternative to the downtown hotel scene. They show their guests the Austin they fell in love with in 1994 when they moved here from the East Coast."


Read the complete Austin American-Statesman feature here...



KOOP Radio: Shades of Green
Park Lane hosts a stop on the Austin Funky Chicken Coop Tour


Listen to Shakti talking Chicken on KOOP's Shades of Green radio program.






New York Shop Exchange Video Business Guide
September 2011


Historic eco-friendly lodging in the Austin TX area.





Country Living
Austin, Two Ways: We're hosting our CL fair in this big Texas city that's loaded with small-town charm! Here's how to experience the best of both worlds.


Featured in the April 2012 issue of Country Living magazine.

Country Living

"...'Home away from home' is an understatement at this earthy inn, composed of three fairly-tale cottages as well as one spacious room in the main house. Take a dip in the shaded swimming pool and delight in a breakfast made with ingredients harvested on-site: fruit and herbs, plus eggs laid by the owners' chickens."


Download the PDF feature here...



The Healthy Voyager
Healthy, Vegan and Gluten Free Heaven in Austin, Texas
April 2012


The Healthy Voyager, Carolyn Scott, shares her love of Austin and Park Lane Guest House.

"...I'll start with one of my most favorite places in the world, Park Lane Guest House. An eco-friendly, vegetarian bed and breakfast, this oasis in the city is a must for any Austin traveler. Nestled in the beautiful Travis Heights neighborhood and 2 blocks from the super cool South Congress strip, Park Lane is prime for sightseeing as well as relaxing."


Read the complete blog post here...



KXAN News: The Weekend Gardener
April 2012


Enjoy our Saturday morning tour of Park Lane's garden with KXAN's John Dromgoole for The Weekend Gardener.





Buff Strickland Photography Tumblog

Park Lane Guest House is featured in the April issue of Country Living Magazine. Photographer Buff Strickland posted a preview image and wrote about it on her Tumblog. We'll post the article here in coming weeks.

"In the course of shooting a travel story this week in Austin, I came across something surprising behind the guest house I was photographing. Right there, only a few blocks from the masses of people hanging out on South Congress, a chicken coop..."


Read the complete Tumblr post here...



The Anti Tourist
Fairytale Cottages Hidden in Austin's Travis Heights
August 2009


"...Park Lane Guesthouse is small; it's intimate; it's charming; it's cozy; it's beautiful; and it's welcoming, alongside an ongoing theme of organic details. The craftsmanship is undeniably remarkable, with an emphasis on detail in every corner of both Shatki Khalsa's (one of the two co-owners- the other being Dev Kirn Khalsa) home, the surrounding property, and in the character of each cottage and room available."


Read the complete Anti Tourist review here...



The Austin Chronicle
Holiday in Town: Bed, Breakfast, and a Whole Lot More


"...Park Lane is a breezy, comfortable, and elegant home, with French doors, tons of funky windows (including one from the first renovation of the Texas Capitol), and a welcoming, wide-open kitchen and living area. It's the second resurrection for the property, which was originally the site of a larger Victorian house built around the turn of the century; a recently added stone swimming pool was built on the ruins of the original basement."




Lonely Planet
Hotels & Hostels Review


"...One of the owners is a retired carpenter, and she's done an amazing job collecting and incorporating interesting elements into the house. Funky bar seats sit beside an amazingly intricate mosaic tilework counter in the kitchen. Most requests come for the romantic Carriage House. A Gothic-inspired ironwork bed stands against deep mustard walls done in a faux-Venetian plaster-like finish."




Daily Candy
Tex Next: DailyCandy Goes to Austin
October 2007


"...While band hopefuls and raucous UT students party on Sixth Street, South Congress (SoCo) is a bastion of cool and quirky boutiques and restaurants with an imposing Capitol view. You’ll feel like a local in a cottage at Park Lane Guest House, a green hotel with organic, vegetarian breakfast and a pro-pets policy."


Read the complete DailyCandy review here...





Latest Newsletter

Austin Green Bed and Breakfast

Organic bed and breakfast in downtown Austin TX

A cottage is our Austin b and b

Read the Park Lane guest reviews

People love our guesthouse in SoCo

Review our Austin bed and breakfast

 

Join our mailing list for occasional Park Lane Guesthouse updates and seasonal specials
Email:        
 
Click here to view our latest newsletter
Facebook   Find us on Facebook!

Specials | About Us | Our Cottages / Rates | Business Travel | Reservations | Directions | Reviews | Policies | Sitemap | Links
Park Lane Guest House | Austin B and B | TEL: 512.447.7460 | parklanebandb@earthlink.net